“People who need people are the luckiest people in the world”

When you wash your face tomorrow I want you to look at it and say “D says my face is alive and it is, it’s a lovely face.” Then go out, face the world and feel beautiful because you are.

 

**

Edit

This man had quite the profound effect on me. It’s like he came in to my life to teach me something, to show me how life could be if I don’t commit to being real. His story, one of repressed feelings and hidden identity well in to his 40s, struck a chord. It was like a big shining light opening from the skies, a message of courage and expression and being at one with the self. He told me of “old age”, of the importance of time once you reach your 40s, of loving the self, of not beating the self up inside and out, of living. He said my face is alive, it sparkles with life, something of which I would negate ordinarily. Sometimes it takes a stranger’s kind words to really make you listen. No matter how close you are to the nearest and dearest, words sometimes evade you, maybe from habit or taking shit for granted. I felt like I grew a little bit and I’m a step closer, because of this beautiful stranger, to who I want to be. It could be a fleeting bit of soul tugging, but it feels different. I feel like I’m wasting time. I feel older than my years in that respect.

I feel alive.

Leave a Reply

