Don’t Ever Wipe Tears Without Gloves

I awoke today imagining what it would be like for those words to fall from my mouth, like spilt red wine. How easy it feels for the taste to linger, swirl in my mouth, around the insides of my head, collecting momentum before staining whichever surface it reaches first. After those words had been said, I imagine a sense of freedom. My chest opens, breathing comes easy, the air is cold and fresh on my lungs and life feels as though it has begun.

Such a vivid premonition has entered my psyche because of a drama that was shown on BBC4 called “Don’t Ever Wipe Tears Without Gloves.” Last night, episode 2 of the 3-parter premièred, and in all honesty it devastated me. It’s based upon a true story about the HIV/AIDS crisis of the 80’s in Stockholm, but the manner in which the story is told is just unforgettable.

I feel somewhat of an emotional ball, and although it will pass, and I know that there’s worse going on in the world, I’m going to allow myself to ride this one out without scorning myself for doing so.

Positive thought to finish?

Life is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

