Because we are beautiful, and so is life.

After the debauchery that was new year’s eve and the consequential adjoining festivities give and take a week either side, I’m looking forwards. Not so much so that I forget to live in this very moment right now, but enough to stir an excitement within me of what this life could lead to. In fact, it could lead to me being in the gutter, homeless and without work. You know, that’s life. But that’s not how I envisage mine. The first 29 years of my life are soon to be complete, the pages have been turned, the ink penned and used to its maximum.

The thought of travelling is as exciting as it is scary. Coupled with the burning desire within to travel, this fear is another reason why I know I should follow what my gut is pointing towards. This is innate and facing those fears will only allow me to grow, to challenge myself by stepping outside of the boundary of which has been imposed partly by myself, partly by society, partly by friends. I’m a lucky guy, and although I know my career ambitions haven’t been met completely during my twenties, I have tried a fair few different things and put my effort into my own music business, which for a short couple of years was hugely exciting and passionately gratifying. It is this music business that this year, Jan 1st 2014, I have decided to let go of and yes it’s quite sad to know I put effort into growing something like that and even in the face of quotes that foretell failure without a full 100% effort, I have let it go. Who knows, I may return to it, but one way to move forward is to snip the past. Thus focus has ensued and is more determined than ever – my future is in travel. Apart from the career, my friends and family have allowed me to collect and store memories that have ultimately made me a strong person, in who I am, in what I can achieve, in the good times and most importantly, the love. The love of which I felt over the Christmas and new year’s holidays from family and a whole heap of friends is priceless and everlasting.

Thank you to them, all of them, every single one of them for being part of my story and helping me start 2014 with a burst of all encompassing love and endurance.

I’m ready to fly. I’m preparing to go. I have a job interview of which I’ve been working towards since I began changing the way I thought back in January 2013. A year of this change in direction is noticeable in me. I don’t have the best memory but I do remember the feeling previous to January 2013, which in fact was a time prior to starting this blog because I wanted this blog to be about my new way of thinking and really putting effort into this fresh take on life. Yes, I haven’t accomplished everything in the way I want to think, because namely, the reason why I felt shit before was the way I thought – of myself, of others’ perception of me, of my own insecurities, of my unfulfilled ambitions. All of that still exists but the way I actively think about it is a whole lot more positive and soulful.

Because we are beautiful and so is life.

So here it is. The new year, the year in which I said I’ll save money and start planning an adventure. I think I’ve been talking about it enough – it’s been 5 years since I travelled to and through India on probably the defining trip of what made me me. I’ve never really lost that travel bug, that burning desire, those dreams while awake and asleep, the taste of sunsets along a beach, acquiring new people and letting them go, keeping hold of one or two, seeing amazing new landscapes, and facing the unknown.

Ordinary society hasn’t worked to my favour and it’s becoming the same old thing. Now is the time for adventure.

Well, after a year of planning and saving of course. Let the countdown commence.

Leave a Reply

